Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Premier and Minister for the Arts
    The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk

    27 Queenslanders honoured at Australian Bravery Awards

    Premier and Minister for the Arts
    The Honourable Annastacia Palaszczuk

    Thursday, September 14, 2017

    27 Queenslanders honoured at Australian Bravery Awards

    Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has praised 27 Queenslanders honoured with Australian Bravery Awards for their heroic conduct in the face of danger.

    Fourteen Bravery Medals and 13 Commendations for Brave Contact had been awarded to Queensland recipients.

    “The courageous men and women who we honour today have put their lives on the line to help keep others safe," the Premier said.

    “Among them are three members of the Queensland Police Service and a Hostel Manager who assisted in the rescue of several people during a fire in an Airlie Beach hostel in 2015, risking their own lives entering the smoke-filled building.

    “Munruben’s Kaitlin Relf was also recognised for rescuing her younger sister when their car was hit by a wave of water and submerged, during flash flooding.

    “Kaitlin was eight years old at the time and immediately undid her own seatbelt and moved to where her sister was secured in a baby seat and with the car sinking into the water she managed to pull her sister to safety.

    “Townsville’s Brain Calway and Cristiana Morf will also be awarded for their bravery in rescuing a man with a disability from a burning house in Townsville.

    “Both Brian and Cristiana saw the smoke billowing from a residence at Castle Hill and immediately ran towards the multi-story property to assist.

    “While Cristiana isolated the electricity to the home and waited to guide the Queensland Fire and Emergency Services team directly to the fire, Brian helped the homeowner to safety.

    “I am pleased these brave Queenslanders, of all ages and from all walks of life, have been recognised today and on behalf of all Queenslanders I thank them for their selflessness,” Ms Palaszczuk said.

    Other Queenslanders recognised today were involved in acts of bravery including: 

    • rescuing a disabled man from a burning house
    • rescuing a drowning spear fisherman
    • assisting people trapped after an accident involving an LPG tanker
    • assisting in an aggravated robbery incident
    • assisting in the rescue of people who were swept into the sea
    • attending a residence where gun shots were being fired
    • assisting during an incident at a petrol station

    Media Contact:       Susan McGrady 0488 996 667

    List of Queensland recipients:

    Bravery Medal

    Senior Sergeant Nathan Malcom Blain – Queensland Police Service

    Mr Wade Trevor Capps – Banyo, Queensland

    Senior Constable Stephen James Cook – Queensland Police Service

    Senior Constable Jacob Flaherty – Queensland Police Service

    Sergeant Gary Harold Hamrey – Queensland Police Service

    Sergeant Barry John Haran – Queensland Police Service

    Mr David Micheal Harris – Koongal, Queensland

    Mr Joel Peter Harris – Koongal, Queensland

    Mr Mathew Thome Hull – Rockhampton, Queensland

    Senior Sergeant Joseph Dominic Kelly – Queensland Police Service

    Senior Constable David Murray – Queensland Police Service

    Mr Joshua James Rodgers – Maryborough, Queensland

    Senior Constable Luke Graham Rowley Queensland Police Service

    Mr Liam Henry Slack – Runaway Bay, Queensland

    Commendation for Brave Conduct

    Ms Fiona Margaret Bennion – Cannonvale, Queensland

    Senior Constable Benjamin James Burnell – Queensland Police Service

    Mr Brian Keith Calaway – Townsville, Queensland

    Miss Stacey Lee Denman – Labrador, Queensland

    Mr Christopher Joseph Dennis – Queensland

    Mr Aaron Hillier – Queensland

    Detective Constable Lachlan Charles Knowles – Queensland Police Service

    Mr Graeme Gary Lawrence – Bald Hills, Queensland

    Detective Senior Constable Danijel Lukic – Queensland Police Services

    Ms Cristiana Margaret Morf – Castle Hill, Queensland

    Senior Constable Adam Issac Petersen – Queensland Police Service

    Miss Kaitlin Lily Relf – Munruben, Queensland

    Sergeant Gregory Burgess St Clair – Queensland Police Service

    Since the establishment of the Australian honours system in 1975 these awards have recognised acts of bravery by people whose selfless actions put themselves in jeopardy to protect the lives or property of others.