Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Health and Minister for Ambulance Services
    The Honourable Cameron Dick

    Children’s health board to benefit from continuity

    Minister for Health and Minister for Ambulance Services
    The Honourable Cameron Dick

    Friday, May 12, 2017

    Children’s health board to benefit from continuity

    In a show of confidence in the Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Board, five members have been reappointed for further terms of between two and four years by the Governor in Council.

    Minister for Health and Ambulance Services Cameron Dick said the board had provided strong leadership in the delivery of children’s health services in Queensland.

    “I’m pleased to announce that Chair Rachel Hunter, Dr David Wood AM, David Gow, Georgina Somerset and Leilani Pearce have been reappointed to the board,” the Minister said

    “I congratulate these members and look forward to working with them towards achieving the goal of making Queensland’s health system the best in Australia.

    “The fact that so many board members sought reappointment is testament to their dedication to their communities.

    “The Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Board is a diverse group, with six women and four men – all with a range of backgrounds, experience and skills – combining to ensure the broader community is well-represented in the health space.”

    Mr Dick said 84 nominated Children’s Health Queensland as their preferred board during a public expression of interest process and the task of selecting 10 candidates was a tough one.

    Jane Yacopetti, Paul Cooper, Dr Leanne Johnston, Ross Willims and Cheryl Herbert are continuing their terms as Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Board members.

    The 16 boards throughout Queensland are responsible under the Hospital and Health Board Act 2011 for local performance of their health services and the delivery of public health services within their communities.

    The board reappointments will take effect on 18 May 2017.

    A complete list of all Hospital and Health Board appointments has been published in the 12 May 2017 edition of the Queensland Government Gazette.

    Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Board

    Ms Rachel Hunter (Chair) – reappointed until 17/05/2021. Former Director-General of the Department of Justice and Attorney-General, and the Department of Education, Training and Arts; former Queensland Public Service Commissioner.

    Mr David Gow (Deputy Chair) – reappointed until 17/05/2020. Experienced non-executive board member for government and private sector companies; Director of University of Queensland Holdings.

    Dr David Wood AM – reappointed until 17/05/2020. Former Director of Paediatric Health Services at Mater Children’s Hospital; founding member of the Abused Children’s Trust (now known as ACT for Kids).

    Mr Paul Cooper – currently appointed until17/05/2019. Experienced accountant; Director of the Export Council of Australia, Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre Ltd and the Rinstrum Group.

    Dr Leanne Johnston – currently appointed until 17/05/19. Paediatric physiotherapist with 20 years’ experience across clinical, research, management and education roles, including 11 years at the Mater Children’s, Mater Mother’s and Royal Children’s Hospitals.

    Ms Jane Yacopetti – currently appointed until 17/05/2019. Managing Director of Carramar Consulting; former executive at the Royal Children’s Hospital; former Deputy Chief Executive Officer of Mater Health Services; former Executive Director of the Queensland Children’s Hospital Project.

    Ms Georgina Somerset – reappointed until 17/05/2020. Company Director; President of the Queensland Rural, Regional and Remote Women’s Network; Board member of Queensland Rural Adjustment Authority (QRAA); Fellow of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

    Mr Ross Willims – currently appointed until 17/05/2018. Experienced senior executive in public and private sector; former Director General of the Queensland Department of Mines and Energy; former Vice President External Affairs BHP Billiton Metallurgical Coal; Life Member of the Queensland Resources Council.

    Ms Cheryl Herbert – currently appointed until 17/05/2019. Trained midwife and nurse; current CEO of the Institute Of Healthy Communities Australia (IHCA Ltd) and vice chair of the Brisbane South Primary Health Network Pty Ltd; fellow of the Australian College of Nursing and the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and board member of Lives Lived Well Pty Ltd and Wound Management Innovation CRC Pty Ltd; founding CEO of the Health Quality and Complaints Commission (HQCC).

    Ms Leilani Pearce – reappointed until 17/05/2021. Executive advisor in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health; has worked in senior positions with Queensland Aboriginal and Islander Health Council (QAIHC), Department of Health and Ageing, and Queensland Health.


    Media contact: Michelle Wellington 0437 323 834