Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Attorney-General and Minister for Justice and Minister for Training and Skills
    The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

    Palaszczuk Government announces Buy Smart Competition winners

    Attorney-General and Minister for Justice and Minister for Training and Skills
    The Honourable Yvette D'Ath

    Wednesday, October 25, 2017

    Palaszczuk Government announces Buy Smart Competition winners

    The Palaszczuk Government has congratulated 35 young Queenslanders and their schools who were awarded a share of more than $15,000 today as part of the 2017 Buy Smart Competition.

    Congratulating the winners at the awards ceremony today, Attorney-General and Minister for Justice Yvette D’Ath said more than 5,000 students participated in this year’s competition. 

    “The Buy Smart Competition is run by the Office of Fair Trading (OFT) every year and encourages Queensland schools to cover consumer literacy issues in the classroom,” Mrs D’Ath said. 

    “Students are asked to think about their role in the marketplace and enter the competition by researching a consumer topic and presenting an entry in a creative way to educate others about what they have learnt.” 

    Mrs D’Ath said it was great to see so many young Queenslanders becoming informed consumers.

    “Online shopping, in-app purchases and social media are exposing young people to consumer issues earlier than other generations, so it is important they know their consumer rights,” Mrs D’Ath said. 

    “A number of entries this year researched what to look for when buying a first car, advice that many of the students will be putting into practice in the near future.” 

    A new School Champion prize worth $1500 was introduced to the competition this year. This category was won by Malanda State High School, for outstanding work in educating students about consumer and financial literacy.

    The other winners include: 

    Category Years 4-6


    • Brooke Hurdle - Kurwongbah State School
    • Indi Vidler - Kurwongbah State School
    • Emily Anstee - Kurwongbah State School



    • Lily Tang - Kin Kora State School
    • Imogen Lindley - Kin Kora State School
    • Georgia Edgar - Kin Kora State School



    • Benjamin Joslin - Wellers Hill State School


    Highly Commended

    • Scarlett Frazer - Kurwongbah State School
    • Lara Williamson - Kurwongbah State School
    • Charlotte White - Kurwongbah State School
    • Mckenzie Kirkham - St Paul's Lutheran Primary
    • Isabella Cann - St Paul's Lutheran Primary


    Category Years 7-9


    • Mana Ridden - Trinity College Gladstone



    • Annabel Watson - Loreto College Coorparoo
    • Isla Jenkins - Loreto College Coorparoo



    • Holly Simpson - Bundaberg State High School
    • Dayna Zunker - Bundaberg State High School


    Highly Commended

    • Ainsley Brink - Kenmore State High School
    • Laura Jenkinson - Kenmore State High School
    • Eli Doroshenko - Chancellor State College
    • Luisa Alberti - Clayfield College
    • Harry Hewitt - Chancellor State College
    • Tahlia Chee - Loreto College Coorparoo
    • Isabella Crawford - Loreto College Coorparoo
    • Katrina Malanos - Loreto College Coorparoo


    Category Years 10-12


    • Daniel Ciccotosto-Camp - Redlands College



    • Kirsty Taylor - Burnett State College
    • Jackson Hodge - Burnett State College
    • Haylee Cafe - Burnett State College
    • Nicole Dakin - Burnett State College



    • Teya D'Souza - Redlands College


    Highly Commended

    • Justin Shepherd - Aspley State High School
    • Noah Hawkins - Aspley State High School
    • Uyen Bui Doan - Westside Christian College
    • Seanna Lesimaikimatuku - Westside Christian College


    Photos of the winners are available on request, please contact the Office of Fair Trading media team, phone 07 3247 5968, or email

    More information about the competition is online at



    Media contact:

    Attorney-General: (07) 3719 7398

    Office of Fair Trading: 07 3247 5968