Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries
    The Honourable Leanne Donaldson

    Finalists named for prestigious rural women’s award

    Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries
    The Honourable Leanne Donaldson

    Monday, February 08, 2016

    Finalists named for prestigious rural women’s award

    Agriculture Minister Leanne Donaldson has congratulated the five Queensland women vying for a prestigious rural award.

    “These inspirational and innovative women are a tribute to Queensland agriculture and I’m delighted to announce the finalists for the 2016 Queensland Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation Rural Women’s Award,” Minister Donaldson said.

    “This year’s finalists include an agricultural photographer and writer, a chef, beef producer, banana farmer and grazier.

    “They have each demonstrated a commitment to agriculture and are regarded as visionaries and future industry leaders.”

    Minister Donaldson said the winner will receive a $10,000 project bursary and take part in a program of professional development, leadership support and networking.

    “The prestigious award aims to identify and support emerging female leaders who have the capacity and drive to enhance their rural industry or community.

    “I am delighted to support the Department of Agriculture and Fisheries’ long association with this award, and look forward to announcing the winner later this month,”  the Minister said.

    The 2016 Queensland finalists are:

    • Emma Robinson, Charters Towers, commercial beef producer
    • Cilla Slack, Reids Creek, grazier
    • Krista Watkins, Walkamin, banana farmer
    • Amanda Hinds, Bundaberg, café owner and chef
    • Fiona Lake, Hermit Park, agricultural photographer and writer

    Minister Donaldson said an outstanding selection of women had applied in 2016, with five finalists chosen this year instead of the usual four.

    “The Rural Women’s Award enables us to recognise the significant contribution women are making to ensure our primary industries are innovative, profitable and sustainable.”

    Minister Donaldson will announce the state winner at an awards ceremony in Brisbane on 24 February, 2016.

    DAF co-ordinates the award each year on behalf of RIRDC. 

     The Australian Government’s Department of Agriculture and Water, Westpac Agribusiness, RM Williams Outback Magazine, ABC Radio and Fairfax Agriculture Media support the award.

    State and Territory winners will compete for the Australian Rural Women’s Award title on 12 October 2016, with the national winner receiving an additional $10,000 to contribute to her project.

    For more information contact the RIRDC on's-award


    Media Contact:  0410 578 131