Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Transport and Main Roads
    The Honourable Scott Emerson

    Tertiary transport rort to stop

    Minister for Transport and Main Roads
    The Honourable Scott Emerson

    Friday, January 31, 2014

    Tertiary transport rort to stop

    The Newman Government is cracking down on public transport users falsely claiming to be full time university students in order to receive cheaper fares.

    Transport and Main Roads Minister Scott Emerson said a tertiary transport concession card, similar to that used in regional Queensland since 2004 and interstate, will be rolled out across South East Queensland.

    “As a Government which promised at the election to improve and revitalise frontline services, we will not stand for people cheating the system and ripping off honest users,” Mr Emerson said.

    “This form of fare evasion is costing taxpayers up to $8 million a year which is why we are introducing a state-wide Tertiary Transport Concession Card (TTCC).

    “It’s a problem which was ignored by Labor, but the Newman Government would prefer to spend that money on driving down the cost of fares.

    “Tertiary and post-secondary students will need to present the TTCC to receive the 50 per cent discount off public transport fares.

    “These changes will bring Queensland into line with other Australian jurisdictions, such as New South Wales and Victoria.

    “The cards will be valid for a maximum of 12 months.”

    From now until 30 June 2014 there will be a transitional period where no fines will be issued for failing to carry the TTCC, and Senior Network Officers will be educating students about the new cards.

    Mr Emerson said from next month students would be able to apply for a TTCC by filling in an application form and taking it to their recognised educational institution for validation.

    “Students must submit their application form to TransLink and then a new card will be mailed out within 15 business days,” he said.

    Students who study part-time, externally or at an institution that is not an authorised higher education facility or Registered Training Organisation are not eligible for concessional fares.

    For more information on the Tertiary Transport Concession Card, visit the TransLink website or phone 13 12 30, anytime.

    [ENDS] 31 January 2014 

    Media contact: Stephanie Shield 0418 186 625