Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    The Honourable Campbell Newman
    Minister for Education, Training and Employment
    The Honourable John-Paul Langbroek

    Another 2,250 Prep Teacher Aide hours across 69 state schools


    The Honourable Campbell Newman

    Minister for Education, Training and Employment
    The Honourable John-Paul Langbroek

    Thursday, June 13, 2013

    Another 2,250 Prep Teacher Aide hours across 69 state schools

    Premier Campbell Newman today announced 2,250 more teacher aide hours every week for another 384 Prep classes in 69 state schools.

    The $6 million announcement, funded in last week’s budget, is the second round of schools to receive more funding as part of the Newman Government’s $54 million Prep teacher aide initiative.

    “The early formative years at school are the most important in terms of a child’s learning and that’s why we are investing in more teacher aide hours in Prep classrooms,” Mr Newman said.

    “This year is the first of our major four-year education initiative and already more than 100 schools are benefitting from an additional 2,250 teacher aide hours per week.

    “Today’s announcement means we are half way towards our election commitment of increasing Prep teacher aide hours up to 9,000 every week by 2016.

    Minister for Education, Training and Employment John-Paul Langbroek joined the Premier on a tour of Prep classes at Narangba State School, north of Brisbane, which is one of the schools to receive more Prep teacher aide hours next year.

    “What this announcement means is that next year each of these 69 schools will receive one teacher aide hour each week for every student,” said Mr Langbroek.

    Mr Langbroek said schools with multiple Prep classes and those with the greatest need had been targeted, with final allocations for each school still to be determined by Prep enrolments as at Day 8, 2014.

    “Thousands of Queensland children are already enjoying a better start to school thanks to the Newman Government’s investment in Prep teacher aides, and the benefits will continue over the next three years,” he said.

    “Teacher aides play such an important role in Prep classrooms, providing much-needed attention and support to help children develop the basic skills they need for learning and interacting with others at school.

    “My mother was a teacher aide so I am well aware of the wonderful job they do in creating a classroom environment where teachers can concentrate on teaching and children can concentrate on learning.

    “The Newman Government is committed to providing Queensland children with the highest quality teaching and learning, in their early years, throughout their education and training and into the work force.”

    [ENDS] 13 June 2013 

    Media contact:
    Andrew Blow (Premier) 0408 912 821

    Danita Goodwin (Minister Langbroek) 0439 886 652


    A list of schools to receive additional Prep teacher aide hours from the start of the 2014 school year follows:

    Algester State School

    Amberley District State School

    Ashmore State School

    Banksia Beach State School

    Bohlevale State School

    Boondall State School

    Brassall State School

    Burpengary State School

    Caningeraba State School

    Chatswood Hills State School

    Currajong State School

    Currumbin State School

    Dalby South State School

    Edens Landing State School

    Edge Hill State School

    Eimeo Road State School

    Fairview Heights State School

    Fitzgerald State School

    Forest Lake State School

    Frenchville State School

    Gladstone West State School

    Glenvale State School

    Goodna State School

    Greenbank State School

    Hercules Road State School

    Hilliard State School

    Humpybong State School

    Kawungan State School

    Kin Kora State School

    Kirwan State School

    Kruger State School

    Kuluin State School

    Kurwongbah State School

    Labrador State School

    Mackay West State School

    Mareeba State School

    Marsden State School

    Merrimac State School

    Minimbah State School

    Moranbah East State School

    Morayfield East State School

    Moreton Downs State School

    Mount Warren Park State School

    Mudgeeraba State School

    Mundingburra State School

    Narangba State School

    Narangba Valley State School

    Pacific Pines State School

    Pimpama State School

    Raceview State School

    Rangeville State School

    Redbank Plains State School

    Redland Bay State School

    Regents Park State School

    Scarborough State School

    Strathpine West State School

    Talara Primary College

    The Willows State School

    Trinity Beach State School

    Upper Coomera State College

    Waterford State School

    Weir State School

    Whitfield State School

    Windaroo State School

    Wondall Heights State School

    Woree State School

    Worongary State School

    Yarrilee State School

    Yugumbir State School