Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Local Government, Community Recovery and Resilience
    The Honourable David Crisafulli

    Friday, April 12, 2013

    Work begins on de-amalgamation

    Minister for Local Government, Community Recovery and Resilience
    The Honourable David Crisafulli

    Friday, April 12, 2013

    Work begins on de-amalgamation

    Local Government Minister David Crisafulli today released rules to guide the de-amalgamation of four Queensland councils.

    He also announced the four experienced local government figures who will guide the transition to new councils. The transfer managers are:

    ·       Peter Franks, for Noosa, has direct experience in a council de-amalgamation, working at Delatite Shire Council in Victoria, where he developed the financial models for the two new councils of Mansfield and Benalla. He also has direct local government experience in Queensland including more than eight years as chief executive officer (CEO) of the Livingstone and Mackay Regional Councils, both of which exposed him to the 2008 amalgamations.

    ·       Graeme Kanofski, for Livingstone, has 20 years’ experience as a local government CEO in Queensland, including in the Gladstone Regional Council after amalgamation.

    ·       Rod Ferguson, for Mareeba, has 22 years’ experience as a Queensland council CEO. This included establishing Southern Downs Regional Council post amalgamation, having been the CEO of Warwick Council immediately before amalgamation. He has a wealth of experience working in regional and rural councils across the state and an acute understanding of the issues they face.

    ·       Jeff Tate, for Douglas, has 18 years’ experience as a local government CEO, 14 of which were running one of the largest councils in South Australia. He was also the project manager for the amalgamation that led to the establishment of the City of Onkaparinga. He now consults to a range of councils and the Local Government Association of South Australia on current local government issues.

    “Between them, these four men have nearly 70 years of experience as CEOs in local government,” Mr Crisafulli said.

    “Best of all, while all four have no connection to the current councils or the de-amalgamation proponents, they’re all moving to the communities to live locally so they can understand firsthand the challenges ahead.”

    Mr Crisafulli said the regulations, approved by the Governor in Council, would ensure:

    ·       Transfer managers and council CEOs negotiate assets and liabilities to transfer to the new councils

    ·       A determination of a range of employee numbers to transfer to the new entity

    ·       Fresh elections for new councils will be held in the last quarter of this year

    ·       The newly elected councils’ terms start on January 1, 2014 until the next scheduled Local Government elections in 2016

    “There is also a provision outlining that the transfer manager meets at least monthly with a local advisory committee to ensure the views of the community are heard during the de-amalgamation process,” he said.

    The advisory committees will be made up of local people, with the Minister approving the following representatives from the community:

    ·       Noosa: Local MP Glen Elmes, a representative from both the Noosa and Cooroy Chambers of Commerce, and a representative from Tourism Noosa

    ·       Livingstone: Local MP Bruce Young, and a representative from both the Capricorn Coast Business Alliance and Capricorn Enterprise

    ·       Mareeba: Local MPs Michael Trout and David Kempton, and representatives from the Mareeba and Kuranda Chambers of Commerce

    ·       Douglas: Local MP David Kempton, a representative of the Port Douglas Chamber of Commerce, and a representative of the Tourism Port Douglas and Daintree.

    “We’ve said from the beginning that de-amalgamation was not for the faint-hearted and now the hard work will begin,” he said.

    “The challenges are significant, and now we have the people and systems in place to roll up our sleeves and turn the wishes of these four communities into reality.”

    [ENDS] 12 April 2013

    Media Contacts:             Monica Rostron 0409 126 332

                                           Andrew Longmire 0418 216 627