Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    The Honourable Campbell Newman

    Ambassadors set to inspire on Australia Day

    The Honourable Campbell Newman

    Friday, December 13, 2013

    Ambassadors set to inspire on Australia Day

    Premier Campbell Newman today announced that 47 Australia Day Ambassadors are set to join local communities across the state to help celebrate our national day.


    “The Australia Day Ambassador Program helps bring communities together by sending high achieving and inspirational Queenslanders to local council Australia Day celebrations,” Mr Newman said.


    “Through this program, Ambassadors are able to share their stories and inspire local communities across the state, from Thursday Island to Mount Isa, Longreach and St George.


    “Next year marks the tenth year the Ambassador Program has been running in Queensland and it will be our biggest yet.


    “The 2014 Ambassadors include inspirational sporting stars, business leaders, entrepreneurs and scientists.


    “I thank the Ambassadors and local councils who are participating in the 2014 program and encourage all Queenslanders to share in the spirit of Australia Day,” Mr Newman said.


    The Ambassador Program is proudly supported by the Queensland Government in partnership with the Australian Government, through the National Australia Day Council. The Ambassador Program is sponsored nationally by Woolworths.


    For more information about the program, or to find out more about the 2014 Ambassadors, visit


    [ENDS] 13 December 2013


    Media Contact: Premier’s office 3719 7000, Minister’s office 3719 7170  




    2014 Ambassadors


    Balonne Shire Council (St George)—Dr Peter Woodruff AM, Chairman of the Medical Board of Queensland


    Barcaldine Shire Council (Barcaldine and Jericho)—Daphne Pirie AO MBE, sportswoman, administrator and women's advocate


    Barcaldine Shire Council (Muttaburra and Aramac)—David Conry, Co-Founder of Youngcare and human rights activist 


    Boulia Shire Council (Boulia)—Alison Alexander, food consultant, Queensland food fellow


    Burke Shire Council (Burketown)—Dr Barbara Piscitelli AM, children's champion


    Carpentaria Shire Council (Normanton and Karumba)—Tim Page, photojournalist


    Charters Towers Regional Council (Charters Towers)—Jenny Woodward, Weather Presenter ABC News


    Cloncurry Shire Council (Cloncurry)—Marayke Jonkers, Paralympian and Founder of Sporting Dreams


    Cook Shire Council (Cooktown)—Ross McKinnon AM, Curator-in-Charge, Brisbane Botanic Gardens


    Etheridge Shire Council (Georgetown)—John Lazarou, PR/ Director for The Coffee Club, charity worker


    Gold Coast City Council (Surfers Paradise)—Nicole Gibson, mental health campaigner


    Goondiwindi Regional Council (Goondiwindi)—Professor Max Lu FAA FTSE, Queensland

    Great and academic leader


    Goondiwindi Regional Council (Inglewood)—Peter Howard, veteran food and wine commentator


    Hinchinbrook Shire Council (Ingham)—Scott Stidston OAM, disability campaigner and advocate


    Ipswich City Council (Ipswich)—Terry White AO, Chair – Terry White Chemists


    Isaac Regional Council (Moranbah)—Professor Julie Campbell AO, medical researcher, now cattle producer


    Lockyer Valley Regional Council (Gatton)—Beverely Mirolo OAM, blood cancer specialist


    Longreach Regional Council (Longreach)—Charlie Earp OAM, Australia's most recognised golf coach


    Maranoa Regional Council (Injune)—Emeritus Professor Ken Donald AO, medical educator and Queensland Great


    Maranoa Regional Council (Mitchell)—Dr Richard Lewandowski, Founder of Operation Smile Australia


    Maranoa Regional Council (Surat)—Bronwyn Sheehan, Founder and Executive Director, The Pyjama Foundation  


    Maranoa Regional Council (Wallumbilla and Roma)—Major Jim Campbell DFC, foundation member of the Sunshine Coast Helicopter Rescue Service


    McKinlay Shire Council (Julia Creek)—Angelo Puglisi, owner of Ballandean Estate Wines

    Moreton Bay Regional Council (Redcliffe)—Bruce and Denise Morcombe OAM, Founders of the Daniel Morcombe Foundation


    Mount Isa City Council (Mount Isa)—Professor Kay Saunders AM, writer, historian and anthropologist


    North Burnett Regional Council (Monto)—Bill Bristow AM, Founder, Angel Flight Australia

    Quilpie Shire Council (Quilpie)—Dr Sally Butler, author of Our Way and Before Time Today


    Richmond Shire Council (Richmond)—Professor Peter Leggat AM, medical researcher and community volunteer


    Scenic Rim Regional Council (Beaudesert)—Jerry Coleby-Williams, TV gardener and horticultural specialist


    Southern Downs Regional Council (Stanthorpe and Warwick)—Dr Colin Dillon AM APM, 2013 Honours recipient for significant service to the Indigenous community of Queensland

    Sunshine Coast Regional Council (Kings Beach)—Craig Lowndes OAM, Australia’s most popular and successful champion racer


    Sunshine Coast Regional Council (Kings Beach)—David Pugh, chef and owner, Restaurant Two


    Sunshine Coast Regional Council (Palmview)—Dr Sally Goold OAM, registered nurse and Senior Australian of the Year 2006


    Sunshine Coast Regional Council (Palmwoods)—Jacob McLuskie, defensive driving advocate and Founder, Jason Rich Foundation


    Toowoomba Regional Council (Clifton)—Professor Brendan Burkett OAM, Paralympic champion and professional engineer


    Toowoomba Regional Council (Highfields)—Hetty Johnston, Founder and Executive Director of Bravehearts Inc


    Toowoomba Regional Council (Hodgson Vale)—Ron Rankin AM, Australian volunteer surf lifesaver


    Toowoomba Regional Council (Oakey)—Sergeant Jim Bellos, People of Australia Ambassador and multicultural champion


    Toowoomba Regional Council (Pittsworth)—Joshua Lang, Queensland Young Australian of the Year finalist


    Toowoomba Regional Council (Pittsworth)—Charles Thomas, anti-bullying campaigner and musician


    Torres Shire Council (Thursday Island)—Kevin Keeffe, Queensland Executive Director, Australian Red Cross


    Townsville City Council (Townsville)—Sara Carrigan OAM, Olympic gold medal cyclist


    Western Downs Regional Council (Chinchilla and Tara Region)—Professor David Tudehope AM, paediatric specialist in newborn care


    Western Downs Regional Council (Dalby and Bell)—Clive Berghofer AM, hardworking, self-made, down to earth and generous philanthropist


    Western Downs Regional Council (Wandoan and Miles)—Lars Olsen, CEO and Founder of the Forget-Me-Not Children’s Home


    Winton Shire Council (Winton)—Emeritus Professor Roly Sussex OAM, language enthusiast