Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    The Honourable Campbell Newman

    Ambassadors capture true spirit of Australia Day

    The Honourable Campbell Newman

    Monday, January 21, 2013

    Ambassadors capture true spirit of Australia Day

    The Australian spirit will be spread across the state with Premier Campbell Newman today announcing that 39 Australia Day Ambassadors will join local communities to celebrate our national day.

    “Through the Australia Day Ambassador Program, local councils will have the opportunity to share their Australia Day celebrations with high achieving and inspirational Queenslanders,” Mr Newman said.

    “This unique program helps bring communities together by sending Ambassadors to share their stories with local communities while celebrating what’s great about being an Australian.

    “Our 2013 Ambassadors include our favourite sporting heroes, entrepreneurs, scientists, business leaders and experts.

    “I thank the Ambassadors and local councils who are participating in this year’s program and encourage Queenslanders to share in the spirit of Australia Day.”

    The 2013 Queensland Australia Day Ambassadors are:

    • Ms Yassmin Abdel-Magied
    • Ms Alison Alexander
    • Mr Clive Berghofer AM
    • Dr Don Bowley OAM
    • Mr Bill Bristow AM
    • Dr Sally Butler
    • Major Jim Campbell DFC
    • Professor Julie Campbell AO
    • Mr Preston Campbell
    • Ms Sara Carrigan OAM
    • Mr Jerry Coleby-Williams
    • Mr David Conry
    • Mr John Coutis
    • Ms Lisa Curry AO MBE
    • Emeritus Professor  Ken Donald AO
    • Dr Dimity Dornan AM
    • Mr Charlie Earp OAM
    • Mr Gerrard Gosens OAM
    • Dr Tony Gould AM
    • Uncle Albert Holt
    • Mr Peter Howard
    • Mrs Hetty Johnston
    • Mr John Lazarou
    • Mr Darren Lockyer
    • Mrs Jean Madden
    • Mr Ross McKinnon AM
    • Mr Lars Olsen
    • Professor Allan Paull
    • Professor John Pearn AO RFD
    • Mrs Daphne Pirie AO MBE
    • Mr David Pugh
    • Mr Angelo Puglisi
    • Mr Christopher Raine
    • Mr Chris Scott OAM
    • Ms Bronwyn Sheehan
    • Emeritus Professor Roly Sussex OAM
    • Professor David Tudehope AM
    • Mr Terry White AO
    • Ms Jenny Woodward.

    Now in its ninth year in Queensland, the Ambassador Program is proudly supported by the Queensland Government in partnership with the Australian Government through the National Australia Day Council. The Ambassador Program is sponsored by Woolworths.

    For more information about the program, or to find out more about Australia Day celebrations in your area, visit

    [ENDS] 21 January 2013

    Media Contact: Premier’s Office 3224 4500