Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection
    The Honourable Andrew Powell

    New look for Heritage Council in 2013

    Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection
    The Honourable Andrew Powell

    Thursday, December 20, 2012

    New look for Heritage Council in 2013

    The Queensland Heritage Council will welcome some new faces in the New Year following a revitalisation of its membership.

    Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection, Andrew Powell, said a large number of high calibre applications, including those from current members, were received following calls for new members of the Heritage Council earlier this year.

    “This new-look council presents a good mix of new and existing members who offer a diverse range of skills and represent a number of industries across the state,” Mr Powell said.

    “New members include Vice President of the Queensland Council of Unions, William Marklew, Brisbane-based architect and historical assessor, Ivan McDonald and Property Council of Australia representative, Marcus Ford.

    “We’ve also got CANEGROWERS Deputy Chairman from Mackay, Mr Anthony Ross, a local councillor from the Fraser Coast, Cr George Seymour and a current National Trust Queensland Councillor, Glenda Sheaffe.”  

    Professor Peter Coaldrake will continue as chair of the Queensland Heritage Council and will be joined by long-standing council member and Deputy Chair John Cotter and existing members Stuart Lummis, Leanne O’Brien and Dr Judith McKay.

    “I would like to thank all the current members for their work and dedication they have shown to preserving Queensland’s historical buildings and landmarks,” he said.

    “I take great pleasure in congratulating all members on their appointments and look forward to hearing their views on how best to preserve and protect our iconic places.”

    [ENDS] 20 December 2012

    Media Contact: Brooke Hargraves 0458 689 043

    Heritage Council appointments:

    Professor Peter Coaldrake has served as Chairperson of the QHC for two years. He is Vice-Chancellor of the Queensland University of Technology and has a keen interest in heritage matters. Prof Coaldrake has successfully overseen a number of important heritage projects including the restoration of Old Government House and the sesquicentenary celebrations.

    Mr John Cotter is a current QHC member and current representative for rural industries in Queensland. He is the current chair of the Queensland GasFields Commission and is a strong advocate for rural and regional Queensland.

    Mr Stuart Lummis is a current QHC member and is an active member of the Property Council of Australia. Mr Lummis has a role in managing over 76 heritage-listed properties as part of his employment.

    Ms Glenda Sheaffe is currently a member of the QHC, representing the National Trust of Queensland (NTQ).  Ms Sheaffe has served on the NTQ council for over 10 years has been actively involved in heritage matters in Queensland for over 25 years.

    Mr William Marklew is the Vice President of the Queensland Council of Unions and the Secretary of the Union Shopper Incorporated. Mr Marklew has served on a number of boards including the Board of Directors of the Australian Defence Credit Union and the Endeavour Foundation.

    Cr George Seymour currently holds the portfolio for Community, Family and Cultural Services on the Fraser Coast Regional Council. Cr Seymour is also the Chair of the Heritage Reference Committee and Chair of Maryborough Open House organising committee.  

    Mr Anthony Ross has been a State and Regional Director for Queensland Cane Growers organisation for 12 years and is the Deputy Chairman of CANEGROWERS Mackay Area Committee. Mr Ross runs a large sugarcane growing business in Mackay and has a long standing interest in cultural and historical matters.

    Ms Leanne O’Brien was a member of the QHC for seven months during which time she provided specialist legal advice to QHC in the fields of town planning and heritage conservation matters. Ms O’Brien also published a paper Enforcement of Planning and Environmental Laws in Queensland in 2009.

    Dr Judith McKay works as a consultant historian and curator and recently was the co-author of the Queensland Parliament House Conservation Plan. Dr McKay has previously worked as a senior curator at the Queensland Museum, has training in history and museology and has been an expert witness in Queensland Planning and Environment Court hearings on heritage matters.

    Mr Ivan McDonald is currently a heritage advisor to Ipswich City Council and Sunshine Coast Regional Council. Mr McDonald is a former Councillor and Vice President of the National Trust of Queensland.

     Mr Marcus Ford is a former board member of the Urban Development Institute of Australia and is currently serving in the Executive Council of the Property Council of Australia. Mr Ford brings with him extensive experience in the planning industry.