Skip links and keyboard navigation

    Media Statements

    Coat of ArmsMedia Release
    Minister for Energy and Water Supply
    The Honourable Mark McArdle

    Bulk Water Entity Board Announced

    Minister for Energy and Water Supply
    The Honourable Mark McArdle

    Tuesday, November 27, 2012

    Bulk Water Entity Board Announced

    Water Supply Minister Mark McArdle today announced the appointment of board members for the bulk water authority that will lead the newly merged south east Queensland bulk water businesses.

    The board members include Noel Faulkner as Chairman, Michael Arnett, Leith Boully, Warren Traves, Jennifer Parker and Kirstin Ferguson.  

    Mr McArdle said rationalising south east Queensland’s (SEQ) three bulk water entities into one authority was a key element of the Newman Government’s strategy to reduce the cost of bulk water, and an important election commitment.

    “The Newman Government is committed to providing cost of living relief for Queensland families battling increasing water charges,” Mr McArdle said.

    “The new board will be responsible, on the Government’s behalf, for optimising the existing SEQ water grid and reducing capital and operating cost increases to benefit water users across the region.

    “It’s important the board includes a balance of SEQ water industry knowledge and expertise with new and innovative ideas and experience from outside the sector.”

    Mr McArdle said the Queensland Bulk Water Supply Authority will combine the functions of three existing Government authorities: Seqwater, Linkwater and the SEQ Water Grid Manager.

    “The establishment of a six-member board reduces the total number of current directors from 17 across the three existing businesses, which will alone result in significant savings,” he said.

    The new board commences its role on 1 January 2013, when the new merged authority commences operations, subject to passage of the legislative amendments and a regulation to facilitate the restructure.

    Board Bio Information
    • Noel Faulkner - has had a distinguished career in managing water and electricity utility businesses, including Chief Executive of Queensland Urban Utilities until 2011.
    • Michael Arnett - a lawyer with more than 25 years’ experience, including with the process of merging organisations. Mr Arnett is currently a consultant with international legal firm Norton Rose.
    • Leith Boully - a director of Seqwater and a company director with extensive experience in water, agriculture and natural resources.
    • Warren Traves - a civil engineer with more than 25 years’ experience in the water industry in Australia and the Philippines. Mr Traves is currently a Director and Finance Committee member of GHD Group Pty Ltd.
    • Jennifer Parker - Managing Partner (Queensland) at Ernst and Young. She has previously served on the audit committees of state departments and local governments.
    • Kirstin Ferguson  - has significant commercial and strategic experience at senior executive and board levels in the legal, utilities, mining and resources sectors. She is currently a non-executive director on a number of company boards, including SunWater.

    [ENDS] 27 November 2012

    Media contact: Minister’s Office 07 3896 3690 /0417 277 905